The Sharjah Gulf Top 10 Businesses Award


About the Award

In 2017, the Sharjah Chamber of Commerce and Industry introduced the “Sharjah Gulf Top 10 Businesses Award”, which is a not-for-profit, business excellence award committed to help private sector organizations drive performance improvement. The Sharjah Gulf Top 10 Businesses Award is for large enterprises (50 and above employees) established in any of the GCC Countries (Saudi Arabia, Oman, Bahrain, Kuwait, and UAE). It draws on the Excellence Model of the European Foundation for Quality Management (EFQM) a comprehensive management framework that helps organizations in assessing performance, integrate and align existing tools, procedures and processes, introduce a way of thinking that encourages reflection and stimulates continuous improvement in the gulf market, and identify the key actions that are drivingresults.

About the EFQM Excellence Model
The renowned EFQM Excellence Model is a non-prescriptive framework for building a holistic overview of any organization, regardless of size, sector or maturity. Over the past 20 years, the EFQM Excellence Model has been a blueprint for EFQM members and organizations across and beyond Europe to develop a culture of excellence, access good practices, drive innovation and improve results.

Organizations using the EFQM Excellence Model have become more attentive to the needs of their stakeholders. They have earned how to learn, innovate and improve their overall performance. Their leaders have increased their abilities to take informed decisions and understand the drivers of their strategy. Many organizations benefitting from the EFQM framework have acted as role models for other organizations. Award-winning management practices have been reused and adapted through EFQM 'sharing what works'. This has led to a significant reduction of waste, increased economic efficiency and improved societal relations.

Top 10 Business Categories

  • Manufacturing sector

  • Trade and Repairing Services sector

  • Real Estate and Business Services sector

  • Tourism and Hospitality sector

  • Construction sector

  • Financial Services sector

  • Transportation and Logistics sector

  • Education sector

  • Health Care sector

  • Digital Services sector


Participation Fees:
10,000 AED is applicable on organizations who meet the terms and conditions of the Award.

Payment Period:
Fees must be payed within a period of 15 days from the date of acceptance by the Award office.

List of Required Documents

The organization wishing to apply must submit the following documents:

  • Registration Form.

  • Valid copy of its Economic Activity License.

  • Valid copy of Membership (Any Chamber of Commerce & Industry in GCC)

  • Submission Form.

  • Organizational structure.

  • Summary of achievements, activities and accomplishments. (Copies of relevant documents to be attached).

  • Future plans and further improvements. (Copies of relevant documents to be attached).

Writing Standards

  • Follow Format/ Margin sent.

  • No. of Pages in Submission Document: 35 Pgs. max.

  • Follow Heading and Sub-heading numeration.

  • Language: Arabic / English.

  • Font Size: 12

  • Font Type: Arial/ Times New Roman.

  • Dividers: Dividers do not count towards number of pages.

  • Front Cover

  • Standards for Charts and for Diagrams

  • Numbered Attachments.

Terms & Conditions

The organization wishing to apply must meet the following terms and conditions:

  • Exercise its economic activity in any of the above mentioned GCC Countries.

  • Must have a valid license (based on economic activity), a membership with the Chamber of Commerce and Industry in any of the GCC countries and/or a valid license from any Free Zone Authorities in the GCC.

  • A minimum of three years of operation.

  • Sound and clear financial and legal standing.

  • Abide by the award deadlines.

  • Re-participation in the award is allowed after 2 cycles from date of ceremony.

  • The decision of the Board of Trustees regarding the selection of the winners is final.

  • Winners will be subject to wide media coverage after the award ceremony.

  • Winners may use the award logo for a maximum of three years after receiving the award

  • Assessors may request supplementary data from the applicants and will conduct site visits during the evaluation period.

  • Assessors reserve the right to authenticate the data provided in the submission file if required.

How to Apply

  • Visit our website

  • Fill the Registration Form

  • Complete and Submit the Registration on the link specified in our website